Changelog Global Media Library

More structure for your media

Published on 16. May 2022 from

The new media library allows you to use media across projects and outputs. In addition, you can now create and maintain your own individual folder structure.

Changelog Global Media Library

Until now, the structure of how media could be used in Novamag offered limited flexibility. Uploaded media like logos, images and videos were bound to a predefined structure and could only be used for the respective issue. In the new media library you can now build your own structure. This not only makes working with Novamag more flexible, but also allows you to reuse a single file in multiple projects and issues. Logos or other recurring media no longer need to be uploaded for each individual issue.

Overall, the new media library system is reminiscent of your computer's folder structure.


What’s new?

Migration

Due to the changeover, we have sorted all existing files into folders (Collections). The folders are named by project name and publication name.

This pre-sorting can lead to the fact that there are no media on the start page of the media library (Files Overview). To get to your media, you have to go to a collection first. You can access this by clicking on the respective folder. Alternatively, you can use the Search collection button to search specifically for media in a collection. If you activate the button Search all collections, you can search for your media in all existing collections.

If you find cryptically named screenshot files on the Files Overview that you can't assign, you can delete them. These files are obsolete and have no use anymore.



If whole collections appear which are cryptically named (about 17 letters and numbers), they are media from a project or publication that has already been deleted due to the migration of the old and new media libraries. Please check if the media stored there is still needed. In most cases, these collections can simply be deleted.



Collections

Collections are basically folders. You can create and use them at different levels in the media library to organize your media in Novamag. You can create as many collections as you like. Collections can be structured flexibly, so one collection can contain another collection and/or files etc.


Navigation in collections

You can easily navigate your new media library. Either click directly on your collections and all media contained therein will be displayed or switch between your collections by clicking on your team, your project or the publication using the small menu bar. The Go back function will take you back to the previous location.


Create collections

With the button +Add Collection, you can create a new collection, name it in the next step and save it.



Update collections

Each collection can be edited using the small menu button (3-vertical dots) in the upper right corner. This way you can easily move, rename or delete collections.

To make sure that you can't easily eliminate existing collections, only empty collections can be deleted. That is, you must first delete all subordinate collections and the media they contain.



Files

Individual files are now detached from the projects and publications and can be sorted and used across them as desired.


Upload files

You can upload your media as usual with the drag&drop function. Note that each collection has a corresponding drag&drop area so that your uploaded media can be placed directly in the desired location. By the way, you don't have to assign media to a collection. You can also place them in the parent Root collection on the main page of the media library.



Move Files

To move a file to another collection, you simply have to click on the file to switch to the detail view of the file and select the desired location in the drop-down menu under Move File.



You can also move multiple media at once. Activate the Multi Selection toggle and click to select the media you want to move. In the drop-down menu Move Files, you can determine the destination of the selected media. With the button Select all you can select all media and move or delete them.



Replace Files

The button Replace File in the detail view of your image allows you to easily replace images that are already used in your publications. After clicking on the button a drag&drop field will open, where you can directly drag in the new image. You don't have to do anything else. The media are automatically updated wherever you had integrated them in your publications.



Toolbar

The toolbar allows you to easily navigate through your collections and quickly find the media you are looking for. Especially if you have a large number of media, the toolbar helps you to keep track of them. Search individual collections in the search bar Search collections for words or the respective file type by clicking on the corresponding icon or find your way in the toolbar Filter by tags with the search for already created tags in all collections.

Changelog December 2021

Changelog December 2021

With the update Next (v3) we reach a new performance level

5 reasons why a simple PDF newsletter is no longer sufficient

5 reasons why a simple PDF newsletter is no longer sufficient

E-mail marketing is considered a true pioneer in the online marketing scene...

Are you convinced?

Test Novamag for free

Start now View examples

Changelog Globale Mediathek

Mehr Struktur für deine Medien

Veröffentlicht am 16. Mai 2022

Die neue Mediathek ermöglicht es Medien projekt- und ausgabenübergreifend zu verwenden. Zusätzlich kannst du ab sofort deine ganz individuelle Ordnerstruktur erstellen und pflegen.

Changelog Globale Mediathek

Bislang bot die Struktur wie Medien in Novamag genutzt werden können eingeschränkte Flexibilität. Hochgeladene Medien wie Logos, Bilder und Videos waren an eine vordefinierte Struktur gebunden und konnten nur für die jeweilige Ausgabe genutzt werden. In der neuen Mediathek kannst du ab sofort deine ganz eigene Struktur aufbauen. Das macht die Arbeit mit Novamag nicht nur flexibler, sondern ermöglicht auch die Wiederverwendung einer einzelnen Datei in mehreren Projekten und Ausgaben. Logos oder andere wiederkehrende Medien müssen nun nicht mehr für jede einzelne Ausgabe hochgeladen werden.

Insgesamt erinnert das System der neuen Mediathek an die Ordnerstruktur deines Computers.


Welche Neuerungen gibt es?

Migration

Durch die Umstellung haben wir alle vorhandenen Dateien in Ordner (Collections) sortiert. Die Ordner sind nach Projektnamen und Publikationsnamen benannt.

Diese Vorsortierung kann dazu führen, dass sich auf der Startseite der Mediathek (Files Overview) keine Medien befinden. Um zu deinen Medien zu gelangen, musst du dich zunächst in eine Collection begeben. Diese erreichst du per Klick auf den jeweiligen Ordner. Alternativ kannst du über die Schaltfläche Search collection gezielt nach Medien in einer Collection suchen. Bei Aktivierung des Buttons Search all collections, kannst du in allen bestehenden Collections nach deinen Medien suchen.

Falls du auf der Files Overview kryptisch benannte Screenshot-Dateien entdeckst, die du nicht zuordnen kannst, kannst du diese löschen. Diese Dateien sind veraltet und finden keine Verwendung mehr.



Wenn ganze Collections auftauchen, die kryptisch benannt sind (ca. 17 Buchstaben und Zahlen), handelt es sich um Medien eines bereits gelöschten Projekts oder einer bereits gelöschten Publikation, die durch die Migration der alten und neuen Mediathek entstanden sind. Bitte prüfe, ob die dort gespeicherten Medien noch benötigt werden. In den meisten Fällen können diese Collections einfach gelöscht werden.



Collections

Collections sind im Grunde genommen Ordner. Du kannst sie auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen in der Mediathek erstellen und nutzen, um deine Medien in Novamag zu organisieren. Es können beliebig viele Collections angelegt werden. Collections lassen sich flexibel strukturieren, so kann eine Collection eine weitere Collection und/oder Dateien enthalten etc.


Navigation in Collections

Du kannst dich einfach in deiner neuen Mediathek navigieren. Klicke entweder direkt auf deine Collections und alle darin enthaltenen Medien werden angezeigt oder wechsle zwischen deinen Collections per Klick auf dein Team, dein Projekt oder die Publikation mittels der kleinen Menüleiste. Über die Funktion Go back gelangst du wieder an die vorherige Stelle.


Collections erstellen

Über den Button +Add Collection, kannst du eine neue Collection anlegen, im nächsten Schritt benennen und speichern.



Collections aktualisieren

Jede Collection lässt sich über die kleine Menüschaltfläche (3-vertikale Punkte) in der oberen rechten Ecke editieren. Auf diese Weise kannst du Collections einfach verschieben, umbenennen oder löschen.

Um sicher zu gehen, dass du existierende Collections nicht ohne Weiteres eliminieren kannst, lassen sich ausschließlich leere Collections löschen. Das heißt, du musst zuerst alle untergeordneten Collections und die darin enthaltenen Medien löschen.



Files

Einzelne Dateien sind ab sofort von den Projekten und Publikationen losgelöst und können nach Belieben sortiert und übergreifend genutzt werden.


Files hochladen

Du kannst deine Medien wie gehabt mit der Drag&Drop-Funktion hochladen. Beachte, dass jede Collection einen korrespondierenden Drag&Drop-Bereich hat und deine hochgeladenen Medien so direkt an gewünschte Stelle platziert werden können. Übrigens musst du Medien nicht zwangsläufig einer Collection zuordnen. Du kannst sie auf der Startseite der Mediathek auch in der übergeordneten Stammsammlung ablegen.



Files verschieben

Um eine Datei in eine andere Sammlung zu verschieben, musst du einfach per Klick in die Detailansicht der Datei wechseln und im Drop-down-Menü unter Move File den gewünschten Speicherort auswählen.



Du kannst auch mehrere Medien auf einmal verschieben. Aktiviere dazu den Toggl Multi Selection und wähle per Klick die Medien aus, die du verschieben möchtest. Im Drop-down-Menü Move Files, kannst du den Zielort der ausgewählten Medien bestimmen. Über den Button Select all kannst du alle Medien auswählen und verschieben oder löschen.



Files ersetzen

Der Button Replace File in der Detailansicht deines Bildes ermöglicht dir das einfache Austauschen von Bildern, die bereits in deinen Publikationen verbaut sind. Nach Klick auf den Button öffnet sich ein Drag&Drop-Feld, wo das neue Bild direkt reinziehen kannst. Du musst nichts weiter tun. Die Medien sind automatisch überall dort aktualisiert, wo du sie in deinen Publikationen integriert hattest.



Toolbar

Die Toolbar ermöglicht es dir dich einfach durch deine Collections zu navigieren und schnell gesuchte Medien zu finden. Insbesondere bei einer hohen Anzahl von Medien gelingt es dir durch die Toolbar den Überblick zu behalten. Durchsuche einzelne Collections in der Suchleiste Search collections nach Wörtern oder dem jeweiligen Dateityp mit Klick auf das entsprechende Symbol oder finde dich in der Toolbar Filter by tags mit der Suche nach bereits erstellen Tags in allen Collections zurecht.

Changelog Dezember 2021

Changelog Dezember 2021

Mit dem Update NEXT (v3) heben wir Novamag auf ein neues Performance-Level

5 Gründe, weshalb ein einfacher PDF-Newsletter nicht mehr ausreicht

5 Gründe, weshalb ein einfacher PDF-Newsletter nicht mehr ausreicht

Das E-Mail Marketing gilt als wahrer Pionier in der Online-Marketing-Szene....

Haben wir Sie überzeugt?

Testen Sie Novamag kostenlos

Jetzt loslegen Beispiele ansehen